The penalties for an OUI are established by law and based on the number of prior drunk driving convictions the driver has. Judges have discretion to determine the fines and jail time within the statutory limits.
For a first offense OUI, you could be facing between 48 hours and six months of jail time, which can sometimes be swapped for 100 hours of community service. Your fine will range from $500 to $1,000, and your license will be suspended for 45 days. Once you get your car back from its two-day stay at the impound lot, you’ll be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car for the next year. Depending on the results of your drug and alcohol evaluation (which can be ordered by a judge), you might be ordered to undergo treatment or rehabilitative services as part of your sentence.
DWI second offense punishments include 120 days to two years in jail and $1,000 to $4,000 in fines. Your license will be suspended for 45 days, and you’ll now have to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car for the next three years. In addition to 100 hours of mandated community service, you may also be required to attend a victim impact panel to learn more about the dangers of impaired driving.
The criminal penalties increase for each subsequent DUI offense. Certain things can also aggravate, or enhance, your charges. Were you to cause an accident involving the serious injury or death of another person while drunk driving, your charge could be enhanced, meaning you would face worse criminal penalties. If you have a minor passenger in your vehicle at the time of your offense, you’re facing minimum jail time of 30 days for a first offense and 180 days for a second offense.
In addition to the host of criminal penalties, you might also find yourself facing a loss of reputation within your community, family, and professional industry. Being saddled with a criminal record can make finding or holding a job or housing more difficult. And of course, you’ll pay higher insurance rates.
Fighting an OUI/DUI Charge
If you’ve been pulled over under suspicion of drunk driving, the sooner you contact a DUI defense lawyer, the better. Your attorney will work to mitigate the severe criminal consequences that the state of Connecticut imposes in OUI/DUI cases. It’s important to remember that you have rights, even if this is not your first DUI charge and you have been convicted more than once in the past.
At Steven Tomeo & Associates, LLC, our legal team is here to defend your legal rights and save your future, your driver’s license, and your reputation. Steven Tomeo has over 50 years of experience providing vigorous representation to Connecticut clients who have been charged with DUI. After handling thousands of DUI cases, his skill in this area of criminal defense is unmatched in the state. Having the right lawyer can make all the difference when it comes to protecting your future against a first or subsequent offense of driving under the influence.
We have extensive experience handling multiple DUI convictions, license suspensions, DMV hearings, out-of-state DUIs, chemical BAC tests, commercial driver DUI charges, and field sobriety tests.