Effectiveness of Ignition Interlock Device in the Statutes
Ignition Interlock Device Program In Connecticut
This comes from the DMV Website
If you are suspended for any of the following offenses you will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) before your driver’s license can be reinstated in Connecticut:
- Failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test
- Operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Vehicular assault
More information on license suspensions and other penalties can be found here.
What to Do
- Contact one of the Connecticut-approved IID vendors to schedule an appointment to have the IID installed. The vendor will notify DMV.
- Pay the $175.00 restoration fee and the $100.00 IID Administration fee. Fees may be paid by a check or money order made payable to DMV or you can pay the fees online.
You should install your IID and pay your fees to DMV at least 10 days prior to your eligibility date. If paying fees by mail, your fees should be submitted 20 days prior to your eligibility date.
Getting Your License Back
You may have other suspension matters in addition to the IID which must be resolved in order to be reinstated.
After all restoration requirements are met and your suspension time has been served, you will be reinstated with IID requirement. A final approval letter/restoration notice will be mailed to you. You may operate only a vehicle equipped with an IID for the duration required.
After you are restored, you must ensure that you have a current, valid driver license. If you were issued a Connecticut non-driver photo ID card during the suspension, you may exchange the ID for your previously held Connecticut driver’s license.
If you hold an out-of-state driver license or registration, you must verify with the issuing state that it is valid before operating a vehicle. If you are now a Connecticut resident, you must transfer your out of state license to Connecticut.
IID Requirement from Another State
If you have moved to Connecticut and you have an IID requirement from your previous home state, your requirements will carry over to Connecticut.
Prior to getting a Connecticut license, you must complete this process with DMV’s Driver Services Division:
- Submit the terms of the other jurisdiction’s IID restriction.
- Submit a certified copy of your driving history issued by the state that imposed the IID restriction. The history must be less than sixty (60) days old on the date it is submitted
- If your IID is currently installed by one of the Connecticut approved IID vendors, have the vendor submit the installation information to DMV. If the IID is installed by a non-approved vendor, contact one of the Connecticut-approved IID vendors to have a new IID installed.
- Pay the $100.00 IID Administration fee. Fees may be paid by a check or money order made payable to DMV and submitted with your IID application or you can pay the fees online.
Once your application has been approved, you must obtain a Connecticut driver’s license and Connecticut vehicle registration within 30 days.
Your Responsibilities with an IID
- Your DMV record will indicate that an IID must be installed in each vehicle(s) owned or operated by you. Law enforcement officials will have access to this information.
- You must bring each vehicle to the installer every 25-30 days for calibration. Failure to do so will result in the suspension of your driver’s license for failure to comply with the terms of the IID program.
- Anyone convicted of tampering with an IID, requesting someone else to blow into the IID, driving a vehicle without an IID, or who removed the IID without authorization will have their driver’s license suspended.
- See additional violations and penalties for failure to comply with the terms of the IID program.
You can call the toll free number(s) below for IID cost, installation, or appointment information.
|Sensolock of America||1-800-219-9936||www.sensolock.com|
|Alcohol Detection Systems||1-888-786-7384||www.ADSinterlock.com|
|Low Cost Interlock||1-844-276-0548||www.lowcostinterlock.com|
Participants in the IID program must pay all costs related to the installation and maintenance of the IID directly to the vendor. Costs are determined by the independent vendors and not the DMV.
For More Information
For information concerning license reinstatement or IID requirements, contact the DMV’s Driver Services Division:
Department of Motor Vehicle
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-1013
The ignition interlock device has been in our statute for a number of years, but they didn’t adopt any regulations for it so it was never a part of our system. I suppose it’s been a part of our system now somewhere around three to four years. It’s all been generated by people who say that the studies show that the ignition interlock device saves lives and keeps people on the road.
They are saying now that just taking a person’s license away isn’t that good because studies have shown that individuals who have their license suspended for operating under the influence drive anyway because they have to get back and forth to work. They say that this is a better way to handle it – give them a smaller suspension. So they lessened the suspension on convictions and they put the interlock device in so now you’re able to drive with this in. They say it’s better off for society.
I haven’t seen any of those studies so I do not know. I’m sure we’re all aware that people that get their license suspended do drive. People get a parking ticket and do not pay their parking fine in Connecticut and most states get their license suspended. They are out there driving. Of course, now they come up with all these statistics that say individuals who have driven while under the influence of alcohol have driven something like 80 times before while under the influence. I’ve not seen those studies.
The National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration has some statistics that out of every ten drivers, they have some percentage of drivers on the road that at certain hours are driving with alcohol in their system. All of this combined together, they are feeling the punishment is severe so let’s take better control of the suspension process. We’ll let people drive and if they go to start the car and they have alcohol in their system, their car won’t start and this will be better for society.
CALL NOW TO SET UP A FREE CONSULTATION